Shawn DeVries

There are certain times in life when you sit back and contemplate the lessons you have learned – those personal observations about who you really are.  These can be stepping stones to the future that provide motivation to continue along a given path or opportunity to change if you don’t like the current results.  Here are a few of mine:

I have learned I will no longer have the ability to claim the status of being the youngest person in the office/department.

I have learned to accept and appreciate my identity not as my real name, but simply as my children’s mom to all their friends.

I have learned that I have an odd sense of humor that can be used to lighten a mood or merely embarrass my kids into obedience – both of which give me great pleasure.

I have learned I can be very shy.

I have learned there is great value in learning something new everyday.

I have learned that things and experiences that life defines as “failure” can actually be blessings.

I have learned the value of prayer, faith and hope.

I have confirmed that a budget is not a 4-letter word, but rather a gift of control.

I have learned that I am indeed a control freak.

I have come to appreciate the therapeutic benefits of close friends, intense laughter, a good cry and chocolate; and that they are much more affordable then actual therapy.

I have learned there are many levels to myself and that each one experiences life with great passion and emotion.

I have learned that meeting personal goals is incredibly rewarding.

I have learned to accept help when offered and that asking for help is not a sign of weakness, but rather a display of incredible strength.

I have learned that humility brings perspective on what really matters most.

I have learned the value of real friends.

I have finally determined what I want to be when I grow up.

I am determined to conquer my fears.  My fears of spiders, snakes and heights however are exempt from that statement.

I have learned that I still have a lot to learn and I am learning to enjoy the process along the way.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

